Cleaning stained rubbermaid containers!

9 Sep

Well first of all, please excuse the rather crude picture above but it was the best I could do with my son running all over the house and getting into things he shouldn’t this morning!

Thats a picture of a previously, terribly stained, rubbermaid container. I should start off by telling you that this was a brand new container that I put spaghetti sauce into. You can tell by the picture that it literally ate away at the plastic! Not only that, but it stained it permanently. That part I was expecting though. I still hate looking at the stain though so I started looking around online for ideas on how to get the stain out. What I came up with worked pretty well I think (based on how badly stained it was to begin with…again, Im sorry I don’t have a “before” picture for you, but if you’ve ever stored spaghetti sauce in a rubbermaid container then you know what it looked like!)

To Clean the Container:

To begin with, rub the inside of the container with a mixture of baking soda and dawn dish soap (after you’ve run hot water in it). Scrub it well with that mixture, and then rinse it out. Next take the container outside to sit in the sun for at least an hour (I left mine outside all afternoon), and viola! The stain is almost gone after that!

Leave a Reply

