Rum Cake

31 Aug

Now you guys are in for a treat!! Ive recently posted several recipes that have come from Pinterest that I’ve made and loved. Most of them are healthy meals that you can make with minimal ingredients. This however is something that I truly love. Dessert! Every year my mother makes rum cake for Christmas dinner (and Christmas morning breakfast – yum!) and its by far the one recipe that I’ve taken with me to keep for my family’s Christmas tradition. However, as I mentioned in my previous post, Im 20 weeks pregnant right now so things like this come to mind and I just HAVE to make them right away. So tonight I did. This smells amazing as it cooks and has to undoubtedly be one of the moistest cakes I’ve ever tasted. Its super quick to mix up and bake…but ill warn you, it won’t last long once its made…even if its only YOU in the house! Its THAT good!

(I know there are probably variations of this recipe online, but this recipe below comes from my mom directly to me so I’m sure its been changed from its original format).

Cake Ingredients:
1 Cup Chopped Pecans (or Walnuts)
1 Dunkin Heinz Golden Yellow Cake
1 Small box of Instant Vanilla Pudding
¼ Cup Light Rum
½ Cup Water
½ Cup Oil
4 Eggs

Butter and flour a bundt pan, then put the chopped pecans (or walnuts) into the bundt pan on the bottom of it all around. (It will basically top the cake). Mix the rest of the ingredients up and beat them for a minute or two so the cake mix will thicken a little bit. Then pour it in the pan on top of the nuts. Bake at 325 for 1 hour. Once its out you’ll want to poke the cake all over with a skewer to allow the glaze (recipe below) to soak into it while its still hot.

Glaze Ingredients:
1 Stick Butter
1 Cup Sugar
¼ Cup Light Rum
¼ Cup Water

Boil the glaze ingredients together for about 2-3 minutes, stirring constantly, until you smell the strong smell of alcohol boiling out of it. Once thats done, just pour it evenly over the cake to let it soak in. Leave the cake to cool for a little bit, but flip it over at least 30 minutes before its cool so it won’t stick inside the pan.

Leave a Reply

